‘Woman raised by two lesbian parents speaks out: I missed my Dad’

March 23, 2015

Barwick, HeatherVia Wintery Knight (whence title above), a great short piece at the Federalist by Heather Barwick: “Dear Gay Community: Your Kids Are Hurting”

Do you remember that book, “Heather Has Two Mommies”? That was my life. My mom, her partner, and I lived in a cozy little house in the ‘burbs of a very liberal and open-minded area. Her partner treated me as if I was her own daughter. . . .

Same-sex marriage and parenting withholds either a mother or father from a child while telling him or her that it doesn’t matter. That it’s all the same. But it’s not. A lot of us, a lot of your kids, are hurting. My father’s absence created a huge hole in me, and I ached every day for a dad. I loved my mom’s partner, but another mom could never have replaced the father I lost.

. . . There were times I felt so angry with my dad for not being there for me, and then times I felt angry with myself for even wanting a father to begin with. . . .

Read the whole thing.

Wintery Knight discusses further.

Agree? Disagree? Thoughts?

