Happy Columbus Day!

October 11, 2010

Thomas Bowden, author of The Enemies of Christopher Columbus, makes a good argument against the pathological pessimism (not to say self-hatred) that has crept into our culture.  (I’m not at a computer where I can listen to that link and double-check; so I’m going by what I remember hearing on the radio this morning.)

See also today’s Human Events editorial on the subject.

2 Responses to “Happy Columbus Day!”

  1. rufus Says:

    It has been justly remarked that “a nation’s civilization is rightly judged by the place that women hold in its society.” Given that America has never had a female president (which even Brazil cannot say any longer), maybe our country is not as great as we think it is. We pretend to be the freest country in the world, but in fact are not.


    • I don’t think that’s a fair criticism. I’m not sure whether we’re the freest country in the world, and anyway I’m sure we have room for improvement, but I don’t think the fact that we haven’t happened to have a female president yet is one of our deficiencies.


Agree? Disagree? Thoughts?